Basic Training for Victim Service Providers

Decorative image with lightbulbs

Registration is now closed for our 2021 sessions. Planned training dates for 2022 below. 

SCCADVASA’s Basic Training Course for Victim Service Providers is an intensive, interactive learning experience for new victim service professionals to gain foundational skills such as strengths-based services, advocacy for survivors of domestic and sexual violence, and collaboration with allies. This Course is helpful for new victim service professionals and has been approved by the Department of Crime Victim Services Training, Provider Certification, and Statistical Analysis (CVST, formerly OVSEC).

Our basic training program is delivered through a combination of in-person and online training modules so that individuals can receive the majority of the training at whatever time and location is convenient for them. Participants must first complete an introductory meeting and 6 online lessons before attending the in-person training.

**Due to COVID-19, our training courses are currently being held virtually. While it is our hope that we will soon be able to hold the Large Group Sessions in person, our top priority remains the health and safety of all participants. We will continue to monitor the situation and provide updates as things progress.** 

Note: If you are registering as a staff member from a Member Organization, you must be logged into Coalition Manager in order to receive your membership rate.

  • Registration: Monday, January 24 – Friday, February 4
  • Introductory Meeting: Monday, February 14 @ 2:00 PM
  • Deadline to complete online courses – Monday, April 18
  • Group Meeting – Tuesday, April 26 from 9:00 am – 3:30 pm
*Please note, all courses for Victim Service Provider Basic Training will close on the specified date or when the cohort reaches full capacity.
  • Registration: Monday, May 2 – Friday, May 13
  • Introductory Meeting: Monday, May 23 @ 2:00 PM
  • Deadline to complete online courses – Monday, July 25
  • Group Meeting – Tuesday, August 2 from 9:00 am – 3:30 pm
*Please note, all courses for Victim Service Provider Basic Training will close on the specified date or when the cohort reaches full capacity.
  • Registration: Monday, August 22 – Friday, September 2
  • Introductory Meeting: Monday, September 12 @ 2:00 PM
  • Deadline to complete online courses – Monday, November 7
  • Group Meeting – Tuesday, November 15 from 9:00 am – 3:30 pm
*Please note, all courses for Victim Service Provider Basic Training will close on the specified date or when the cohort reaches full capacity.

NOTE: After registering for the Basic VSP Training course, you will also need to apply for a VSP number with the SC CVST office. Click here to go to their website. We’ve provided a short video below to help you navigate this important process.

Becoming a VSP (Victim Service Provider) in S.C.